Skip to content

Meir Shalev: The Loves of Judith

(Fiction, 315 pp. Hebrew, 1994, English translation 1999)

Also published as Four Meals, this rich and remarkable novel recounts how, over the course of four meals that take place across several decades, a boy named Zayde learns about his mother Judith’s relationships in a rural village in British Mandate Palestine in the 1930s with her three lovers, all of whom consider him their son.

  • Kirkus review, January 1999
  • Review by Andrea MacPherson , January Magazine, July 2000
  • Review by Bob Goldfarb, Jewish Book Council,
  • Tom Teicholz interviews Meir Shalev, Jewish TV Network (22 min.)